Learning Asante Twi

img_20160912_082312609

As part of my reAfricanization I have chosen to learn the Akan language Twi, of the Asante dialect. Here is why I chose this language, and I encourage all my brothers and sisters in the Diaspora to dedicate time and effort in learning a language from the Motherland.

Why: I chose Asante Twi because I found other languages such as Bambara and Amharic very difficult to learn. Twi just felt right on a spiritual level.

How: I am teaching myself using the Internet and by making a homemade Twi language book. I also practice by teaching my son the language, too.

Goal: I began studying Twi in the summer and hope to begin constructing simple sentences by Kwanzaa, and be fluent in 1 year.

 

Leave a Reply

